thoughts on psalm 62.

My soul waits in silence for God only;
From Him is my salvation.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
My stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken.

How long will you assail a man,
That you may murder him, all of you,
Like a leaning wall, like a tottering fence?
They have counseled only to thrust him down from his high position;
They delight in falsehood;
They bless with their mouth,
But inwardly they curse. Selah.

My soul, wait in silence for God only,
For my hope is from Him.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.
On God my salvation and my glory rest;
The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.
Trust in Him at all times, O people;
Pour out your heart before Him;
God is a refuge for us. Selah.

Men of low degree are only vanity and men of rank are a lie;
In the balances they go up;
They are together lighter than breath.
10 Do not trust in oppression
And do not vainly hope in robbery;
If riches increase, do not set your heart upon them.

11Once God has spoken;
Twice I have heard this:
That power belongs to God;
12 And lovingkindness is Yours, O Lord,
For You recompense a man according to his work.

– Psalm 62, NASB

i was going through a study on the reliability of God, how we can trust Him to answer prayer, and came across this psalm. it’s one (of many. many, many, many) that i haven’t read before. it stuck out to me for many reasons.

first, it’s a great picture of an unchanging God amidst the chaos and frustration of life. people can let you down, tough circumstances can be exhausting and frustrating, confusion and uncertainty can disorient, and personal failure can drag you into dark places. but the Creator of the entire universe stays the same. always. and His promises remain, even when it’s hard to believe them sometimes.

in Him we find our rock, our foundation. when times become unbearable, He is One in which we can root ourselves deeply. that strength becomes ours, the same way a ship that is anchored solidly into the deep retains the strength of the rock to which it is tied. in Him we also find a stronghold, protection against that which delights in destroying us. we find refuge from pain (through knowing His peace), from condemnation (through knowing His forgiveness), and from futile striving (through knowing His grace). He will not make it so that nothing bad happens to us – He never promised that –  but He is sovereign, and all things that happen work out for the good of those who love Him (romans 8:28). in Him we find our salvation. salvation from a life dominated by searching for satisfaction in empty places. salvation from eternal separation from the only One who is worth pursuing. salvation from enslavement to dark, disgusting sin that you shudder to imagine others knowing.

the second thing i love about this passage is the way the author seems to be writing in such a way to remind himself. in verses two and six, he emphasized that God is the only One who serves as his rock, salvation, and stronghold. his soul waits for God, and nothing else. nothing else besides his Creator can bring his soul peace. i so often need to remind myself of the same thing. how often do i turn to things that i know won’t satisfy?

verses five and six parallel the first two verses, but there’s a slight difference. in verses one and two, the author is making a declaration: his soul waits for nothing else but the Lord, and his foundation is firm because he knows the One in whom he is trusting. but just four verses later, instead of declaring these words, he is reminding himself of them. he is urging his soul to believe the words he had so confidently uttered just moments before. in essence, after facing the harsh realities of the evil that is present in the world, he had to take a step back and recall truth. the truth that God is way more powerful than that evil.

there’s a phrase i’ve heard a lot since coming to college: preach the gospel to yourself. it was one of those phrases i pretended to understand (because if i was a good christian, i’d know what that meant and i’d be really good at it, right?) but actually didn’t. it’s certainly not something that i totally get today, but over the past couple of years, i’ve begun to understand it and appreciate its importance. it’s essential for me to be reminding myself of Jesus’ sacrifice and how it changes my life – literally taking time in my day to remind myself of what is true about me because of that.

because of the gospel, i am free from having to work really hard to please God. i am free to fail and struggle and mess up without being condemned. because of the gospel, i am now doing what i was created to do. because of the gospel, i am an adopted son of God. everything that Jesus earned by His perfect life and death is now attributed to me: His righteousness, His relationship with God, and His inheritance.

no wonder we so often forget these truths… they seem too good to be true! from a human standpoint, there’s no way that makes any sense!

but it’s a good thing that God is not limited by a human logic. or a human love.

my soul, rest in God only. don’t look for peace in places you know won’t satisfy. rest in the knowledge that He keeps His promises, that He loves you fully and completely. and that he knows you just as fully and completely. take refuge in His providence and sovereignty. wait on His timing, because it’s always better than yours. and bless the Lors, oh my soul. worship His holy name. it’s what you were created for.

anchorrock

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “thoughts on psalm 62.

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m glad you finally read this psalm. It’s a great one! And you had some great thoughts. Often, I find myself going back to the same unsatisfying worldly sins. It’s one of those things that God will always be teaching me, I think– how sufficient He is.

Leave a Reply

