thursdays – part 9.

Today was a great day. The first thing Sam did when he saw me was say “Hey! I decoded your message and I wrote you back!” He dug around in his backpack until he pulled out a lined piece of paper with a message in code scribbled on it. I promised to decode it and write him a reply, and we got to work. Today especially we worked on sectioning off his homework and just taking it one chunk at a time. He still has a big tendency to favor doing lots of meaningless things over actually getting work done, but this week he was a lot better about focusing in on his work. Today he had a math book worksheet he was working on, and he finished it up pretty quickly.
     
I also helped Emily study for her history test. At first she was really overwhelmed by how to study; there were nine sections in the book she had to know. We just took it one section at a time, memorizing terms and people, and then taking one main chunk at a time, seeing what the main ideas were. After we were done she felt a lot better about her test. It was good to see her developing more study skills, and see their benefits.
     
The art project this week was an “abstract weaving”, where the kids took pieces of differently-colored ribbon and wove them into a piece of paper, gluing them on so that they stayed in place. The kids really liked it, and I got the chance to work with Elijah, who I haven’t really interacted with in a few weeks. He tends to have a sour attitude about doing his homework, but today he was in a good mood, and he and I started singing along to a song we both knew. It was fun, and I’m hoping for more chances to work with him.
     
This week was the third week in a row that Jalen wasn’t present. I miss that kid, and I hope I get to see him before Christmas break. When Elijah came in, for a split second I thought he was Jalen, and was disappointed when it wasn’t. Then I caught myself—surely Elijah could have sensed that disappointment had I been working with him that day. It’s okay to have kids I work with more frequently than others, I think… but I realized today that I tend to view Elijah as a “problem child” (at camp we referred to these guys as “struggle-bus” kids) because of his reaction to homework and his general attitude when he’s at MOMs. But if I’d never talked to Jalen about respecting people, I might think the same about him. I’m not saying I need to talk to Elijah about how he should be acting differently, but I do need to give him the same chance I gave Jalen… perhaps that’s all he needs. It was good to remind myself to keep that perspective no matter who I’m working with.
           
Next week we won’t have MOMs because of Thanksgiving break. Is it really this close to the end of the semester already?

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “thursdays – part 9.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m really good at abstract weaving, as you probably could’ve guessed. i made some excellent place mats back in my day. no big deal.
    i mean this entry was great and all, but this comment was just to tell you about my awesome art skills. in case you hadn’t looked at your blanket lately. this was a reminder.
    =)
    OHHHHHH SNAPPPPP IM ALL CAUGHT UP.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’m really good at abstract weaving, as you probably could’ve guessed. i made some excellent place mats back in my day. no big deal.

    i mean this entry was great and all, but this comment was just to tell you about my awesome art skills. in case you hadn’t looked at your blanket lately. this was a reminder.

    =)

    OHHHHHH SNAPPPPP IM ALL CAUGHT UP.

Leave a Reply

